Learn Greek online - ilearngreek.com Logo
Designed for the serious study of the Greek language!
14 directories, 656 pages, thousands of audio files!

Mythology Customs Traditions Free Preview

Greek Mythology

The Gods of Olympus

In English

  After the battle of the Titans the world divided into three parts, between the three brothers, Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades or Plutonas. Zeus took the sky, Poseidon the sea and Hades took the underworld which is also called Hades.
  The land and Olympus were not given to anybody. Zeus was the most powerful among the gods. His brothers, sisters and kids acquired different positions. There were many gods and goddesses. The most important though were the six gods and six goddesses of Mount Olympus, also called the Olympian gods:

The Gods

  • Zeus = Διας/Ζευς. The king of all gods and humans.
  • Poseidon = Ποσειδώνας. The god of the sea.
  • Apollo = Απόλλωνας. The God of the sun, music, and divination.
  • Hermes = Ερμής. The messenger of the gods.
  • Ares = Άρης. The god of war.
  • Hephaestus = Ήφαιστος. The god of fire and the craftsman of the gods. He made Zeus' thunderbolts.

The Goddesses

  • Hera = Ήρα. Zeus' wife, the Queen of the gods.
  • Athena = Αθηνά. Zeus' daughter, goddess of wisdom.
  • Aphrodite = Αφροδίτη. The goddess of beauty. She came out from the foam of the sea on a beach in Cyprus.
  • Demeter = Δήμητρα. The goddess of agriculture.
  • Artemis = Άρτεμης. The goddess of hunting.
  • Ηestia = Εστία. The goddess of the home and the family.

Other Gods

   There were other gods that did not live on Mount Olympus. Some of them are:
  • Hades = Άδης or Πλούτωνας. The god of the underworld, Zeus' brother.
  • Dionysus = Διόνυσος. Son of Zeus, the god of wine.
  • Pan = Πάνας. Son  of Hermes, god of the shepherds and the flocks.

In Greek

  Μετά την Τιτανομαχία ο κόσμος χωρίστηκε σε τρία μέρη, μεταξύ των τριών αδελφών, του Δία, του Ποσειδώνα και του Άδη ή Πλούτωνα. Ο Δίας πήρε τον ουράνο, ο Ποσειδώνας την θάλασσα και ο Άδης τον κάτω κόσμο, που επίσης ονομάζεται Άδης.
 Η στεριά και ο Όλυμπος δεν δώθηκαν σε κανέναν. Ο Δίας ήταν ο πιο ισχυρός μεταξύ των θεών. Τα αδέλφια του, οι αδελφές του και τα παιδιά του πήραν διαφορετικές θέσεις στον Όλυμπο. Υπήρχαν πολλοί θεοί και θεές. Οι πιο σημαντικοί όμως, ήταν οι έξι θεοί και οι έξι θεές του Ολύμπου που ονομάζονται επίσης Ολύμπιοι θεοί:

Οι Θεοί

  • Δίας / Ζεύς = Zeus. Ο βασιλιάς των θεών και των ανθρώπων.
  • Ποσειδώνας = Poseidon. Ο θεός της θάλασας.
  • Απόλλωνας = Apollo. Ο θεός του ήλιου, της μουσικής και της μαντικής.
  • Ερμής = Hermes. Ο αγγελιοφόρος των θεών.
  • Άρης = Ares. Ο θεός του πολέμου.
  • Ήφαιστος = Hephaestus. Ο θεός της φωτιάς και ο τεχνίτης των θεών. Έφτιαχνε τους κεραυνούς του Δία.

Οι Θεές

  • Ήρα = Hera. Η γυναίκα του Δία, η βασίλισσα των θεών
  • Αθηνά = Athena. Η κόρη του Δία, θεά της σοφίας.
  • Αφροδίτη = Aphrodite. Η θεά της ομορφιάς. Γεννήθηκε από τον αφρό της θάλασσας, σε μια παραλία της Κύπρου .
  • Δήμητρα = Demeter. Η θεά της γεωργίας.
  • Άρτεμης = Artemis. Η θεά του κυνηγίου.
  • Εστία = Ηεstia. Η θεά του σπιτιού και της οικογένειας.

Άλλοι Θεοί

   Υπήρχαν και άλλοι θεοί που δεν ζούσαν στο βουνό Όλυμπο. Μερικοί απ' αυτούς είναι:
  • Άδης ή Πλούτωνας = Hades. Ο θεός του κάτω κόσμου, αδελφός του Δία.
  • Διόνυσος = Dionysus. Γιος του Δία, ο θεός του κρασιού.
  • Πάνας = Pan. Γιος του Ερμή, θεός των βοσκών και των κοπαδιών.

Words you Need to Learn

(+) Show or Hide the "Key"

Home | Pricing | Contact Us | Search | Help | News
Testimonials | Privacy | Terms of use | Site Map
Link to us | Why Learn Greek

Copyright © 2002-2024 ILG. All Rights Reserved.